Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Messi Misses Out As UEFA Releases 2017/18 Champions League Awards Winners

This year’s group stage draw was coupled with the awards ceremony for the second year in a row

The best goalkeeper, defender, midfielder and forward from the 2017/18 competition, which saw Real Madrid win the trophy once again after beating Liverpool in the final, were honoured during the event.

Real had a nominee in every position, while Mohamed Salah and Kevin De Bruyne were also given recognition from the Premier League. Here are all the winners of the awards handed out for their achievements last season…

UEFA President’s Award 2018

Winner: David Beckham

Awarded for outstanding achievements, professional excellence and exemplary personal qualities during their time in football. “It’s a long time since I was at an awards show like this,” said Beckham as he received his award.

On Manchester United’s treble winning season in 1999, he added: “Winning the treble was an incredible moment for me.”

UEFA president Aleksander Ceferin said the award was given as he “uses the power of football to help disadvantaged children”.

Champions League 17/18 goalkeeper of tournament

Winner: Keylor Navas (Keylor Navas)

Other nominees: Alisson Becker (Roma, now Liverpool), Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus, now Paris Saint-Germain).

Champions League 17/18 defender of tournament

Winner: Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)

Other nominees: Marcelo (Real Madrid), Raphael Varane (Real Madrid)


Champions League 17/18 midfielder of tournament

Winner: Luke Modric (Real Madrid)

Other nominees: Kevin De Bruyne ( Manchester City ), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid)

Champions League 17/18 forward of tournament

Winner: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)

Other nominees: Lionel Messi ( Barcelona ), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

UEFA Women’s Player of the Year

Winner: Pernille Harder (Wolfsburg)

Other nominees: Ada Hegerberg and Amandine Henry (both Lyon)

UEFA Men’s Player of the Year

Winner: Luka Modric (Real Madrid)

Other nominees: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid), Luke Modric (Real Madrid), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

Who won the 16/17 awards?

Goalkeeper: Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus)

Defender: Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)

Midfielder: Luka Modric (Real Madrid)

Forward: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Posts


South Korea said its intelligence agency has foiled North Korean attempts to hack into its companies developing coronavirus vaccines. The News1 agency reported this...


The National Insurance Commission (NAICOM) has licensed five new insurance companies to operate in the Nigerian Insurance market. The five new companies comprises four...


The Supreme Court on Friday dismissed an application by an oil giant, Shell Petroleum Development Company, requesting a revisit of a January 11, 2019...


The Sultan of Sokoto, Alhaji Sa’ad Abubakar, has raised the alarm over what he described as the high rate of insecurity in the North,even...


The North East Governors’ Forum has called on the federal government to grant the states powers to prosecute terror suspects. The call was made...

You May Also Like


Indications have emerged that the National leader of the All Progressive Congress (APC) Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu may have shifted allegiance from his party’s...


Former Emir Of Kano, Sanusi Lamido Sanusi may have put his dethronement in March this year, as the traditional head of the ancient Northern...


Popular gospel act, Lanre Teriba aka Atorise is presently in an unstable condition following injuries he sustained during an attack in Lagos at the...


Good morning Gentlemen of the Press and thank you for honouring our invitation. Let me start by appreciating the Inspector General of Police, IGP...